St. Tammany Parish Development District Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes | January 16, 2025

Present: President Joan Coffman, Sandy Badinger, Sean Burkes, Elder Brown III, Mimi Dossett, Ross

Lagarde, Louis Ochoa, Eric Singletary, Dr. William Wainwright

Absent: Paul Myers, IV; Eric Schouest

Staff: Chris Masingill, Timothy Billiot, Kyle Buckley, Vincenzo Caronna, Sharon DeLong, Keith Espadron,

Levi Holder, Kate Moore, Fellow Joey Coomey, Dee Polk, ERC Fellow

Counsel: Mark Balkin | Hardy Carey Chautin & Balkin

Guests: Amy Thibodeaux | Cleco; Rob Furman & Griffin Hakenjos | Griffin & Furman, LLC

President Coffman called the meeting to order at 3:07 p.m. Commissioners present established quorum.

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

No public comment on any agenda item.

CONSENT AGENDA

With no modifications, the Consent Agenda, which consisted of the December BOC Meeting Minutes, and YTD Financial Statements, was approved. Ross Lagarde, seconded by Louis Ochoa, motioned to approve the consent agenda as presented. All were in favor. Motion passed.

OLD BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS

FY 23/24 Financial & LLA Audit Report – Rob Furman | Griffin & Furman

President Coffman introduced Rob Furman who detailed the financial audit stating a conclusion of an unmodified or clean reporting with no significant deficiencies or weaknesses and no management letter. Furman also presented a clean report on the Louisiana Legislative Audit. Coffman commended the staff on the notable reporting. *Dr. Wainwright, seconded by Ross Lagarde, approved the financial and LLA audits as presented. All were in favor. Motion passed.*

Oaths of Office - Mark Balkin | Hardy, Carey, Chautin & Balkin

President Coffman called upon Mark Balkin to issue the Oaths of Office for Mimi G. Dossett, entering the second three-year term; and Sandy Badinger, Sean Burkes, and Eric Singletary, all entering the first three-year term. All cited the Oath of Office as Commissioner for the District. Oaths of Office for each Commissioner were signed and notarized and will be mailed to the State and the Parish for recording.

Resolution: Approval of Bank Signatories for 2025

DeLong stated new signature cards are required as new officers have been elected. Officials named in the resolution were Joan Coffman, President; Mimi G. Dossett, Vice President; Paul Myers, IV, Secretary/Treasurer; and staff executives Chris Masingill, CEO; and Ashley Llewellyn, Vice President, and Sharon DeLong as the account administrator only. Sandy Badinger, seconded by Louis Ochoa, motioned to approve the resolution as presented. A roll call vote was taken. All Commissioners present were in favor. Motion passed.

Resolution: Consideration for credit limit increase on THRIVE Mastercard

Masingill described the organization's need for flexibility in paying for marketing, stakeholder event expenses and official conference events that require payments via credit card. The current credit limit of \$10,000, which is divided between THRIVE-\$2,500 and STartUP Northshore-\$7,500, needs to be increased to \$17,500 to include THRIVE-Chris Masingill at \$7,500; THRIVE-Ashley Llewellyn at \$5,000 and STartUP Northshore-Vincenzo Caronna at \$5,000. President Coffman noted the increase is evidence

St. Tammany Parish Development District Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes | January 16, 2025

of the growth of the organization. Eric Singletary, seconded by Elder Brown, motioned to approve the resolution as presented. A roll call vote was taken. All Commissioners present were in favor. Motion passed.

EXECUTIVE UPDATE

Masingill introduced Amy Thibodeaux of Cleco's economic development department. Cleco is a steadfast economic development partner in our business development, business retention, and marketing efforts.

Masingill and ERC Fellow Dee Polk shared insights from a regional economic development event led by State Representative John Wyble held in Washington Parish this morning. Polk summarized his efforts and the success of the ERC program in Washington Parish.

Masingill noted two Parish updates. The Charter Review Committee selected Kevin Davis as the Chair and Arthur Laughlin as Vice Chair of the Committee. President Cooper announced \$5.6 billion in federal funding has been authorized and appropriated for levy protection of the Lakeshore area.

The St. Tammany legislative delegation hosted Louisiana Speaker of the House, Phillip R. DeVillier for a familiarization tour of St. Tammany Parish January 6-9. The tour highlighted capital outlay projects in our area. Additionally, the delegation and the Speaker explored economic development projects including Agile Cold Storage, Horsborough & Scott, and Gulf South Commerce Park.

StartUp Northshore's NSpire Startup Slam was held at the Columbia Theatre held Friday, January 10. The pitch competition featured three impressive startups vying for a prize package valued at \$115,000 of cash and in-kind services. Vincenzo Caronna gave a brief overview of each of the finalists and provided a recap of the evening's festivities. Commissioner Brown shared his enthusiasm for the successful event and the future of the initiative.

Masingill provided a status update on the development of the next iteration of the THRIVE strategic plan and the advances in our suite of websites.

The Gulf South Commerce Park water tower is 80% complete, and with funding now in place, the tower's top will be attached, completing the tower, in the next few weeks.

With the relocation near completion, we are in negotiations with the tenant in the adjacent office suite, for additional office space.

Masingill thanked Joan Coffman, Sandy Badinger, and Dr. Wainwright, who spoke alongside St. Tammany Corporation at the December school board meeting about the future Healthcare and STEM Discovery Center in Lacombe. The Center is a component of the school system's capital improvement plan which was approved through a vote at their December board meeting.

New Fellow

Dr. Wainwright introduced Joey Cooney, our newest Fellow who will be supporting the organization's administrative and strategic initiatives programs of work.

President Coffman welcomed the three new Commissioners and reviewed the annual ethics requirements for all Commissioners.

St. Tammany Parish Development District Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes | January 16, 2025

ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 4:40 p.m. on a motion by Eric Singletary and seconded by Dr. William Wainwright All were in favor. Motion passed.

Minutes reviewed and submitted by the STC Staff.